Notice of 2018 Annual General Meeting of the Australian Bioinformatics and Computational Biology Society Inc.

This notice is to advise you of the upcoming Annual General Meeting of members of the Australian Bioinformatics and Computational Biology Society Inc.

The details of this meeting are as follows:

: 28th November, 2018
Time: 1:30pm-2:30pm AEDT
Location: Arts West, University of Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria

The meeting will be open to all members, however, to be entitled to vote or stand for election as a committee member you must have been a financial member for at least 10 working days prior to the AGM.


At the meeting, members will be asked to vote on:
·       Accepting the minutes of the last Annual General Meeting
·       Accepting the annual report & annual financial statements
·       Special resolutions to change to the constitution
·       A resolution to set the membership fee for the next financial year
·       Election of committee members

Resolutions and Special Resolutions

The following special resolutions will be proposed at the annual general meeting:

Special Resolution 1: “The Rules of the Australian Bioinformatics and Computational Biology Society Incorporated are amended as set out in the marked-up copy of the Rules circulated to each member with the Notice of Special General Meeting and tabled at the Special General Meeting.”

The details of this special resolution are provided in the attached appendix and marked-up copy of the rules.

A resolution setting the fees for the next calendar year will also be presented to members.

Documents related to the AGM

  1. Agenda [link]

  2. Special Resolutions

    1. Appendix describing proposed changes to the constitution [link]

    2. Current constitution [link]

    3. Proposed changes in marked-up version of constitution [link]

Further papers will be circulated and added here closer to the AGM.

Nominations for election to the executive committee

Nominations can be made by submitting the nomination form to Nominations must be submitted by November 20. In line with the society rules, you must have been be a financial member for at least 10 business days to be eligible to vote or nominate.
Candidates will be provided with an opportunity to submit a written statement in support of their election. These will be emailed to members prior to the election. 


The printed and completed proxy form can be brought to the AGM or proxies can be submitted electronically by emailing the completed proxy form to returning.officer@abacbs.orgup to 24 hours before the AGM (by Nov 27, 1:30pm AEDT).

Key dates

November 6: Notice of AGM
November 13: Deadline for new financial members to be eligible to vote (or nominate) at the AGM.
November 20: Nominations close.
November 23: Deadline for written statements from candidates (due by midday AEDT).
November 24: Additional papers to be posted: Annual Report, Financial Report, Minutes of the 2017 AGM.
November 27, 1:30pm AEDT: Deadline for proxies to be submitted electronically or bring the completed form to the AGM.
November 28, 1:30pm AEDT: AGM

If you have any additional questions please feel to email us at

Ashley Waardenberg
ABACBS Inc. Secretary